icon

Good Budget subs and amps?

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
Asmodeus 
Silver - Posts: 393
Silver spacespace
Posted: March 16, 2005 at 10:47 PM / IP Logged  

I really like them...I have been using and selling Memphis for 6 years now....This year the power ref was redesigned to make up for some flaws in the past and they are amazing...

Entry level subs that handle power well and produce sound very well....I have never personally put them into a sealed box I have only put them into slot ported boxes....I would hope they perform as well in the sealed as they do in the ported....

But for the price I couldnt recomend them anymore than I already do at work...

Good Budget subs and amps? - Page 2 - Last Post -- posted image.
Making the World A Louder Place
customsuburb 
Gold - Posts: 1,813
Gold spacespace
Posted: March 17, 2005 at 6:04 PM / IP Logged  
If he were to get those Cerwin Vega subs what would be a good amp for them? Maybe something like this? http://www.cardomain.com/item/INFREF310A I know Infinity amps arn't that great but its only $134. Are these really over rated though?
stevdart 
Platinum - Posts: 5,816
Platinum spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Posted: March 17, 2005 at 6:56 PM / IP Logged  

Using two SVC 4 ohms, use a mono amp that does 400-500 watts.  Or if a stereo amp is used, get one that does 1 X 400 watts bridged at 4 ohms and use two DVC subs.  You could easily reduce that wattage to 350 to drive those two subs and that will make finding an amp a lot easier.

That Infinity amp will do the job just fine.  And I'll bet it's not in the least over-rated.  I ran one of those CV HED subs on 75 watts for awhile and it got real loud.