icon

Fiberglass Tips & Tricks for Beginners

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
boulderguy 
Silver - Posts: 510
Silver spacespace
Posted: July 17, 2005 at 12:14 PM / IP Logged  

I'm very new at this, looking for all the help I can get.  I've figured out the basics, but would really appreciate all the tips & tricks y'all have picked up thru experience that would make my life easier on the next few projects.

This started on another thread, I'm going to migrate those posts here.  Feel free to add anything you'd tell a beginner, the sort of thing you wish someone had told you...

Poormanq45 wrote:
The thing I like best about mat is that even if it folds over on itself that you can just add a bit more resin and stab it down. YOu can't do that with the weave stuff.
Try my method of applying resin first then sticking the mat to that. You'll probably find it alot easier to work with sinse you won't have to hold it in place while you apply resin.

Steven Kephart wrote:

Poormanq45 wrote:
I just glassed right onto the tape.
First I like to apply the resin, then stick the mat to that then stab more resin into it. I think I did like 3 layers before I took it out of the trunk. Then I just kept adding layers until it passed the thumb test. Some areas took like 10 layers, others were good with 4 layers.

Wow, 10 layers?  I normally don't go above 5-6 layers of 1.5 oz mat.  One suggestion is to add ribs on the flat areas to give it strength.  I did this on my dash mold by taping down pieces of 16 awg wire like a # sign and fiberglassing over it.  This produced ribs in the mold that added strength.  Or on a larger project I made them out of wood and fiberglassed them in.   This technique should save you some money on fiberglass materials. 

Steven Kephart

Adire Audio

boulderguy 
Silver spacespace
Posted: July 17, 2005 at 12:15 PM / IP Logged  

A couple questions -