the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
icon

Compustar factory alarm disarm?


Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
TJ92Civic 
Copper - Posts: 161
Copper spacespace
Joined: November 13, 2004
Location: United States
Posted: August 06, 2005 at 1:05 PM / IP Logged  

I installed a Compustar 2w900fm on a Volvo 850 GLT.  This car has double pulse unlock, but one pulse will disarm the factory alarm.  I hooked up the disarm wire to the unlock wire, and everything is fine, except Compustar forgot one thing (I think at least).  If I set the alarm (locks the doors and also sets factory alarm), when I open the door, it sets off both the factory alarm, and the compustar alarm (which it's supposed to do), but when I hit the disarm button on the remote, it only shuts off the compustar alarm, not the factory, unless I hit it again, and unlock the doors.  Shouldn't it disarm the factory alarm too?  The book says the disarm wire only pulses before remote start, and on unlock.  Any ideas?  Or did I just confuse everyone?

thanks

tim

mo12v 
Platinum - Nominee - Posts: 2,748
Platinum - Nominee spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Joined: September 30, 2003
Location: Afghanistan
Posted: August 06, 2005 at 2:52 PM / IP Logged  

Try:

OEM Alarm DisarmBLACK / YELLOW (-)AT HOOD PIN SWITCH **

** BLACK / YELLOW (-) Wire Is Hood Trigger For OEM Alarm. OEM Alarm Will Not Arm With Hood Open. Grounding BLACK / YELLOW (-) Wire Permanently Will Prevent OEM Alarm From Arming.

MO
Don't Learn from Others Mistakes
You Might Be the One That Knows.
TJ92Civic 
Copper - Posts: 161
Copper spacespace
Joined: November 13, 2004
Location: United States
Posted: August 06, 2005 at 3:31 PM / IP Logged  

I guess that would work, but I kinda wanted to keep the oem alarm working, and I used that hood pin for the compustar.  I was more trying to find out why Compustar did this?  Shouldn't the Compustar disarm the factory alarm when it disarms itselF???

Thanks for the reply though.

tim

maxcat 
Copper - Posts: 211
Copper spacespace
Joined: June 26, 2005
Location: Canada
Posted: August 07, 2005 at 10:23 AM / IP Logged  

What year is the volvo. Does it have a factory disarm wire. In most vehicles you will find a disarm wire to disarm the factory alarm and let the unlock and lock outputs from the compustar work your locks. There should be a seperate factory disarm wire to tap into,therefore disarming both the factory alarm and the compustar alarm. Connect  the compustar disarm wire to this wire.

maxcat 
Copper - Posts: 211
Copper spacespace
Joined: June 26, 2005
Location: Canada
Posted: August 07, 2005 at 10:35 AM / IP Logged  

Sorry, just me again after looking at the vehicle information MO12v is right ,as it looks like this vehicle may not actually have a seperate oem disarm wire. The permanant  ground on the hood pin may be the only way.sorry for the earlier post

TJ92Civic 
Copper - Posts: 161
Copper spacespace
Joined: November 13, 2004
Location: United States
Posted: August 07, 2005 at 11:54 AM / IP Logged  
It will disarm on unlock (or one pulse to the unlock wire will disarm without unlock).  But the thing is that If I lock the doors, and open it (setting off the alarm), when I hit the disarm button on the remote, it only disarms the compustar.  I have the disarm wire connected already, it's just that that wire only pulses before remote start, and on unlock.  And when the alarm goes off, and you hit the disarm wire, it doesn't unlock the doors, so the factory alarm continues to go off, until you hit it again and unlock the doors.
TJ92Civic 
Copper - Posts: 161
Copper spacespace
Joined: November 13, 2004
Location: United States
Posted: August 08, 2005 at 12:28 PM / IP Logged  
anyone?
markj19 
Member - Posts: 1
Member spacespace
Joined: August 14, 2005
Posted: August 14, 2005 at 7:34 PM / IP Logged  

The problem is when the alarm is going off and you press button I, it doesn't actually disarm the compustar alarm either, just shuts the siren and lights off and returns it to the normally armed mode, so therefore it doesn't send out a factory alarm disarm signal either.  I think you are stuck with that one.  You "could" tie an aux channel into the factory disarm wire as well giving you seperate controll over the factory disarm, but it seems just as easy to hit the button a second time.  Think of it this way, if the compustar DID pulse the factory alarm disarm wire when you press button I to silence the alarm, you would want to be able to re-arm the factory alarm right?  and to do so you would have to unlock and then re-lock the the car.  Which is exactly what you have to do now.  Not that this really helps, but it may clarify things a little.

Mark


Sorry, you can NOT post a reply.
This topic is closed.

  Printable version Printable version Post ReplyPost New Topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

  •  
Search the12volt.com
Follow the12volt.com Follow the12volt.com on Facebook
Wednesday, January 26, 2022 • Copyright © 1999-2022 the12volt.com, All Rights Reserved Privacy Policy & Use of Cookies
Disclaimer: *All information on this site ( the12volt.com ) is provided "as is" without any warranty of any kind, either expressed or implied, including but not limited to fitness for a particular use. Any user assumes the entire risk as to the accuracy and use of this information. Please verify all wire colors and diagrams before applying any information.

Secured by Sectigo
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
Support the12volt.com
Top
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer