icon

Speaker wiring question

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
onesuretng 
Member - Posts: 3
Member spacespace
Posted: August 15, 2005 at 5:07 PM / IP Logged  
I looked at the sub wiring section and since I'm new at this I wasn't sure if the wiring applied to my situation.
I have a deck with 3 RCA outs, front, rear, and sub. I have 4 6.5" speakers (50w rms, 4 ohm) that I want to run off my decks front RCA channel (for those wondering I already have an amp for the rear RCA channel running a pair of 6x9's). What would be the best way to wire this providing the most power to all 4 6.5" speakers?
Here 2 scenarios I've considered:
1. Parallel/Series wiring: front l/r (+) together and to amp (+), front l/r (-) to mid l/r (-), mid l/r (-) together and to amp, bridge amp.
2. Use a Y splitter on my front RCA deck outs and connect the splitted ends to my amp's front /rear channel.
Amp Specs:
4/2/1: RMS at 14.4
60w x 4 (4 ohms)
75w x 4 (2 ohms)
250w x 2 (4 ohms) - bridged
Any thoughts/help or suggestion would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks!
mini14 
Copper - Posts: 120
Copper spacespace
Posted: August 15, 2005 at 5:40 PM / IP Logged  
this is confusing, you have a pair of 6.5 on each side in the front? and it sounds like you have 2 amps, if this is the case it looks like one is for the 6x9's ok and one is for the 6.5's ok. if this is correct then go with #2. Go ahead and wire the speakers (assuming they are svc 4 ohm) to each channel so you have one speaker to one channel. You could really do yourself a favor and get a 2 channel amp and wire the speakers in parallel to get the most power. That setup would have 2 loads at 2 ohms
stevdart 
Platinum - Posts: 5,816
Platinum spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace