icon

relays to keep car on without key

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
ccb31789 
Member - Posts: 3
Member spacespace
Posted: October 14, 2005 at 1:32 PM / IP Logged  
Here's what I would like to do: I would like to install a switch that when in the On position, keeps the car on even while they keys are taken out (until the brake pedal is pressed or the starter is engaged). Here's a basic diagram of what I'm thinking needs to be done:
relays to keep car on without key - Last Post -- posted image.
But I'm somewhat new to this, so there's a good chance that diagram is a little off. I didn't label the terminals but I'm sure you all can figure out that 87 is at the top, 86 is to the left, etc... So yeah...
Is this practical?
Do I need to put diodes across the coils?
Is the switching of relays every time I turn on the car or press the brake gonna wear them out?
Will the clicking of relays every time I press the brake become ridiculously annoying?
ccb31789 
Member spacespace
Posted: October 14, 2005 at 1:40 PM / IP Logged  
Oops, I already found a mistake in my drawing. It should be something a little more like this.
relays to keep car on without key - Last Post -- posted image.
wiggetta 
Member - Posts: 5
Member spacespace
Posted: October 16, 2005 at 6:06 PM / IP Logged  
I also want to do this, but maybe using a Push to make momentary latching switch to activate it.
Is the above relay going to work?
NowYaKnow 
Gold - Posts: 1,217
Gold spacespace
Posted: October 16, 2005 at 9:41 PM / IP Logged