icon

77 Impalas endless rattle

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
lifesshort 
Member - Posts: 4
Member spacespace
Posted: October 17, 2005 at 7:08 AM / IP Logged  
Hello, I have a 4 door 77 Impala that I've been working on for around 4 years now... I just threw  2 12's (Kicker comps) in the trunk powered by a 900 watt (300 RMS). I built my own box which sounds great, all except for the massive rattles, It doesnt sound to bad on the inside but the outside it horrible. I found some of it inbetween the backglass and the trunk lid.. I filled it with walmart foam and it helped massivly.. But I also have a rattle, between my gas tank and my trunk... THATS THE WORSTE part of all of the rattle, I'm needing to know what to put between the trunk and gas tank, also will roofing underlayment work for inside soundeadener?? PLease give me some ideas I am on a budget although my Impala is stripped atm (Read deck, back seat, Headline, Trim, I also can't find new trim to fit my car any ideas on finding that as well?  Your help with be greatful and very much appreciated. Thanks for your time.
Lifes 2 Short 2 Waste so enjoy it while it last.
abovestock 
Copper - Posts: 247
Copper spacespace
Posted: October 17, 2005 at 4:04 PM / IP Logged  
line the car with fat mat.  Fat mat is like Dynamat but better and cheaper.  Gut the car and line everything with it to get rid of all your rattles.  Good luck.
Why do you ask if I ate paint chips when I was younger?
lifesshort 
Member spacespace
Posted: October 17, 2005 at 4:19 PM / IP Logged  
Does roofing underlayment work? Cause I am on a serious budget now, some things came up.
sk8ingsmurf 
Copper - Posts: 198
Copper spacespace
Posted: October 17, 2005 at 4:40 PM / IP Logged