Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
allthotslost 
Member - Posts: 3
Member spacespace
Posted: May 23, 2006 at 11:37 PM / IP Logged  

I am new to this and trying to learn the best I can but i have a few questions:

1. How can you bridge a mono amp?

2. If you wire 2 subs parallel, does it cut the output in half? (I dont think it does)

3. If you have 2 single 4 ohm subs, and a 2 channel 4 ohm amp, can you put 1 channel to each sub?

This is all the questions i can think of now. Thanks for any help.

aznboi3644 
Gold - Posts: 2,600
Gold spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Posted: May 23, 2006 at 11:43 PM / IP Logged  
1. You cannot bridge a mono amp because there are not multiple channels to bridge. A mono amp is what it is...MONO meaning ONE.
2. Wireing 2 subs in parallel does not cut output in half. It only cuts the impedance in half.
3. Yes. Easiest and simplist way to wire 2 4 ohm subs to a 2 channel 4 ohm amp would be each sub to a channel. You could wire the subs in series and bridge the amp but it will be the same output if wired to each channel.
Glad to help.
mustangfoo 
Silver - Posts: 371
Silver spacespace
Posted: May 23, 2006 at 11:44 PM / IP Logged  

1. You cannot bridge a mono amp, remember in school, mono is one, bi is two, tri is three, well in our case mono is one and stereo can be two or more.

2.It depends on the ohms your are working with, if you are working with (2) 4 ohm speakers than the ohms halve, if you are working with a 4 ohm and an 8 ohm speaker, then they don't halve, they equal themselves out to 6.

3. Yes you could, but that doesn't mean you are going to get the most out of your amp, you should read the HOW TO CHOOSE AN AMPLIFIER thread.

Read things on this site, read things posted in the forums, just read and then after that read, and when you are done with that read some more, trust me you will learn a whole lot just by reading the things on this site.

allthotslost 
Member spacespace