icon

HF850 in 2007 Avalanche

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
Customautomotiv 
Copper - Posts: 128
Copper spacespace
Posted: January 09, 2007 at 8:32 PM / IP Logged  
I havent tried tapping after the amp in this car, so im not sure what sort of issues may arise. In this field, I tend to play it safe. I am insured but I prefer not to butcher someones vehicle by cutting wires unless they sign a waiver releasing me of all liability. Oddly enough people will spend the extra money on the harness if they want it done right. The 07 harness for chevy/gmc's is 2x as much as the previous harness, but in my opinion it is well worth it. The sound quality is excellent and you still retain full control over the on star system. As far as warranty issues.....if the audio system decides to take a doodie....even if it is a burnt out light bulb on the radio face...I GUARANTEE you the dealership will blame it on the handsfree install. I have been doing this for 16 years and I have had only a few instances where the dealership has tried to blame it on me. Everytime I have been able to prove that my install was not the cause. If a dealership can get out of paying for warranty services..THEY WILL!
Ppagliai 
Member - Posts: 5
Member spacespace
Posted: January 09, 2007 at 9:38 PM / IP Logged  

Point well taken, customautomotiv, but I do have to agree with elicoleman...what makes this harness so expensive?  Afterall, all I am needing is one full time hot, one ignition switched wire, a ground and a mute wire connection.    I have a external speaker, so there is no need to tap into the stereo.  Does the Parrot harness offer more features than I need (or am I missing something?)

I had a harness for my '03 Avalanche that was called a GMCell or something like that.  It was about 25 bucks...I hate to be tight fisted about the price of the harness and I don't want to invade the factory wiring.