icon

capacitor

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
twiztid_killa 
Member - Posts: 2
Member spacespace
Posted: December 30, 2006 at 11:08 PM / IP Logged  

i just recently bought a 5 farad power acoustik capacitor and i got a generic owners manual, but i wired it up, positive to pos, negative to neg, and let it sit and charge for a couple hrs like the manual said.... after that i turned the system on and it still dimmed the lights and sounded the same, is there somewere i went wrong or do i need another battery to provide the rest of the power? i figured the 5 farad would be more than enough since im pushing 3400 watts im open to options im new to the cap situation.... let me know

thanks

Lane

L-Mac
03 S-10 Extreme 4.3 Vortec
76 Caddy Sedan Deville 500 CID
69 Buick Wildcat 430-4
87 regal
90s civ and sub 
Member - Posts: 22
Member spacespace
Posted: December 31, 2006 at 12:59 AM / IP Logged  

Keep in mind that capacitors (regardless of size) are only a storage medium.  Remember there's no replacement for amperage.   So if you're running an amp rated @ 500 watts RMS with a 5 Farad cap, and a stock alternator, you won't see a noticeable change in stereo performance.  I own a Civic that had a 60 amp alternator.  My sub amp is rated at only 320 watts RMS.  When I'd crank the stereo 3/4 of the way up, my lights would dim, big time.  I swapped my stock alternator with a 135 amp, high output unit .  Not only do my headlights stay bright, but I've eliminated the use for a capacitor altogether.  Not saying that capacitor's are bad news, but with the cash you spent on that cap, you could've purchased a high output alternator, with a  heavy duty (4 gauge or heavier) amp wire kit.  Hope this helps

twiztid_killa 
Member - Posts: 2
Member spacespace
Posted: December 31, 2006 at 8:03 AM / IP Logged