icon

Adding A 2nd Battery

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
lilj2343 
Member - Posts: 25
Member spacespace
Posted: January 20, 2007 at 12:49 AM / IP Logged  
I'm relatively new to the whole audio scene although i have done minor system installs in a couple of vehicles... but i have never done a second battery install so i do have a couple of questions. a friend of mine told me that i will need to put a capacitor between the new battery i'm going to mount in my trunk for use in wiring my amp... he told me that i would need this capacitor in order to keep from drawing extra amps off of my alternator. so my question is this... Will i indeed need to install a capacitor in the system (it's only going to be for everyday use) or what? What is going to be the best thing for me to do in order to connect this new battery up and not risk draining my original battery or burning out my alternator. I've already researched getting a new alternator with high output, (mine is a 160 amp), but i can't find any what so ever for my vehicle, ( 2000 pontiac grand prix). any help will be greatly appreciated!!
geepherder 
Platinum - Posts: 3,668
Platinum spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Posted: January 20, 2007 at 6:23 AM / IP Logged  
If you'll do a search for caps, you'll realize it will only help to "smooth out" the voltage created by your alternator. It does not alleviate any extra current draw from the alternator- neither does an extra battery. A second battery is sometimes used to run a system while the engine is not running, and an isolator is used to keep the two batteries seperated. That way, if you run the system for too long, you can still start the engine with the primary battery.
If you can tell us what your goal is, we can help you achieve it. Be specific- let us know what you're trying to do. Are you going to use this system primarily for competitions (sq or spl?), or street use? What equipment do you have/plan on using?