great new material

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
speakermakers 
Copper - Posts: 231
Copper spacespace
Posted: March 28, 2007 at 2:13 AM / IP Logged  
Anyone tried foamed PVC?
I have been using this stuff for a while now and I don’t think that I could live with out it now.
It looks like ABS
It takes to glue and paint like ABS
It weighs a fraction of what ABS or MDF dose
It costs a fraction of what ABS dose
It cuts and machines better than any material that I know of.
Its not as strong or shock resistant as ABS but works just as well in many cases (not all).
It is Very easy to form with a heat gun
Its much more resistant to solvents than ABS. I have been using a 15x 8” piece as a mixing board for about three months now and it’s in as good of shape as the day I started using it. I clean it off with a squirt if lacquer thinner and a paper towel after every use.
I propose that we continue to use this thread as a place to introduce new materials that we come across.
Don’t worry about someone ells already knowing about a relatively new material. Just post it. This is not a competition. It’s a place to share.
I am sitting on a pile of new chemicals and materials that I don’t think many people are using that I would like to share here, but I want to see if there is any interest on this topic before I spill the beans.
So, bring it on!
twizted_kuztomz 
Member - Posts: 7
Member spacespace
Posted: March 28, 2007 at 3:59 PM / IP Logged  
I'm interested. I'm always up for hearing about new materials and learning to work with new things.
Twizted Kuztomz
Member Team Gates
mustangfoo 
Silver - Posts: 371
Silver spacespace
Posted: March 28, 2007 at 11:42 PM / IP Logged