icon

how to read data on wire

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
trobins5 
Member - Posts: 31
Member spacespace
Posted: June 05, 2007 at 9:24 AM / IP Logged  
I have an o-scope and need to know how to check to see if a wire (any wire) in a vehicle has data on it. Can someone help? I am new to this so any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
haemphyst 
Platinum - Posts: 5,054
Platinum spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Electrical Theory. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: June 05, 2007 at 10:18 AM / IP Logged  
What are you trying to find? If looking for digital data, just probe the wires, if there's data there, you'll see it instantly. For that matter, you'll see analog data (power, speaker leads, etc.) as well...
It all reminds me of something that Molière once said to Guy de Maupassant at a café in Vienna: "That's nice. You should write it down."
trobins5 
Member spacespace
Posted: June 05, 2007 at 6:46 PM / IP Logged  
I am looking for 12v constants and 12v switched wires in multiple vehicles. I am using a portable Fluke 190 O-scope/meter, so it has BNC fittings and meter fittings. I believe I need to use the probe with the BNC connector. I also believe I need to use the ground clamp on the BNC probe to see the data. Correct? How would I know if there is data? I believe it will be a square wave. Is it also true that data could happen once in a 24hr period. I guess I would have to leave the scope connected for 24hrs on record? I am connecting GPS and tracking systems so I need wires that don't have communication on them. Thanks!
haemphyst 
Platinum spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Electrical Theory. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: June 05, 2007 at 8:56 PM / IP Logged