icon

need suggestions for 7 screen in dash

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
psyon 
Copper - Posts: 54
Copper spacespace
Posted: September 04, 2007 at 2:14 PM / IP Logged  

I have an Audi Allroad....  it has a factory double-din radio, and i am putting a CarPC into the vehicle.

I have a 7" Xenarc touchscreen that i will be putting in the dash where the radio is.  I have never worked with fiberglass or anything before, but i figure a good way to start is with a small screen in the dash.

i purchased this Scosche adapter on ebay:

need suggestions for 7 screen in dash - Last Post -- posted image.

I plan on cutting out the bottom pocket part with a dremel, and using that entire opening for the screen.  Obviously i'd need to fill the edges as it won't be the exact dimensions for the screen.  What is the best method to do this?  bondo?  fiberglass?  anything else?  keep in mind i have ZERO experience building anything (i have installed a couple of car stereos on some of my cars, but no fabrication work).  I DON'T consider myself to be a craftsman or especially skilled.  I don't want to spend $200 on supplies just to make this screen enclosure.  any suggestions on how to do this would be greatly appreciated!

Regards

Loving Car Audio since 1992
psyon 
Copper spacespace
Posted: September 04, 2007 at 2:17 PM / IP Logged  
need suggestions for 7 screen in dash - Last Post -- posted image.
psyon 
Copper spacespace
Posted: September 04, 2007 at 5:47 PM / IP Logged  

FYI i saw this thread:

https://www.the12volt.com/installbay/forum_posts.asp~TID~87279~PN~1

(flushing a remote), and that looks the most like what i'll be doing.  i guess i'll use the bondo

and then sand and paint.  only question i have is what material is he using there?  I need to know

what material to cut to cover this scosche adapter piece and mold the monitor to

tubbs04 
Copper - Posts: 212
Copper spacespace
Posted: September 04, 2007 at 7:06 PM / IP Logged  
psyon wrote: