the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
icon

best way to wire 2 dvc 4 ohm subs?


Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
luckydawg003 
Copper - Posts: 63
Copper spacespace
Joined: August 30, 2007
Location: United States
Posted: September 04, 2007 at 4:24 PM / IP Logged  
I switched my 2 ohm subs for dvc 4 ohm subs, so they will work with my amp. Now this is probably a stupid ?, but still I'm curious. I have a 2 channel amp stable at 2 ohm stereo or 4 ohm mono. Should I wire both the subs up to the mono-bridged channel for a 4 ohm load. Or make each sub 2 ohm load in stereo mode, one sub for each channel. Not sure if it really makes a difference, but who knows?best way to wire 2 dvc 4 ohm subs? - Last Post -- posted image.
xtremej 
Gold - Posts: 1,440
Gold spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: February 24, 2006
Location: United States
Posted: September 04, 2007 at 4:34 PM / IP Logged  
Wire each sub to a 2 ohm load, then 1 sub per channel. There is a subwoofer wiring guide in the column to the left ie woofer wiring.
the12volt 
Administrator - Posts: 3,951
Administrator spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Electrical Theory. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Security and Convenience. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: March 07, 2002
Location: Louisiana, United States
Posted: September 04, 2007 at 4:36 PM / IP Logged  
xtremej 
Gold - Posts: 1,440
Gold spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: February 24, 2006
Location: United States
Posted: September 04, 2007 at 4:51 PM / IP Logged  
my ways betterbest way to wire 2 dvc 4 ohm subs? - Last Post -- posted image..
the12volt 
Administrator - Posts: 3,951
Administrator spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Electrical Theory. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Security and Convenience. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: March 07, 2002
Location: Louisiana, United States
Posted: September 04, 2007 at 4:58 PM / IP Logged  

xtremej wrote:
my ways betterbest way to wire 2 dvc 4 ohm subs? - Last Post -- posted image..

No and yes, but no ;)  ...I could argue both sides, but I'll let you figure it out :p

best way to wire 2 dvc 4 ohm subs? - Last Post -- posted image. the12volt • Support the12volt.com
luckydawg003 
Copper - Posts: 63
Copper spacespace
Joined: August 30, 2007
Location: United States
Posted: September 05, 2007 at 4:19 PM / IP Logged  
So which way is better his our just bridging them to 4 ohm mono?
xtremej 
Gold - Posts: 1,440
Gold spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: February 24, 2006
Location: United States
Posted: September 05, 2007 at 4:52 PM / IP Logged  
I am willing to bet you'll see more power output from you amp wiring it my way. But wiring it to a 4 ohm load/bridged will be easier on the amp and probably provide cleaner/more accurate output. 
jmelton86 
Gold - Posts: 1,228
Gold spacespace
Joined: February 07, 2007
Location: South Carolina, United States
Posted: September 05, 2007 at 7:25 PM / IP Logged  
I would say that having them wired 2ohm stereo will have more speaker wires, so in theory, less resistance.
2013 Kia Rio -90a alternator
DDX470HD GTO14001 GTO1014D (x3)
Big3 in 1/0G
1/0G to GTO14001
luckydawg003 
Copper - Posts: 63
Copper spacespace
Joined: August 30, 2007
Location: United States
Posted: September 05, 2007 at 10:58 PM / IP Logged  
OK then. I will wire them however I feel like, because I guess their is no answer to this ?. Either way will work, without any big impacts on my amp.

Sorry, you can NOT post a reply.
This topic is closed.

  Printable version Printable version Post ReplyPost New Topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

  •  
Search the12volt.com
Follow the12volt.com Follow the12volt.com on Facebook
Monday, January 17, 2022 • Copyright © 1999-2022 the12volt.com, All Rights Reserved Privacy Policy & Use of Cookies
Disclaimer: *All information on this site ( the12volt.com ) is provided "as is" without any warranty of any kind, either expressed or implied, including but not limited to fitness for a particular use. Any user assumes the entire risk as to the accuracy and use of this information. Please verify all wire colors and diagrams before applying any information.

Secured by Sectigo
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
Support the12volt.com
Top
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer