icon

explain octaves, how they effect sound

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
wildcatjay 
Member - Posts: 26
Member spacespace
Posted: November 30, 2007 at 6:59 AM / IP Logged  
please explian how octaves will effect the sound of my subs, my amp has the option for 12-24 octaves    whats the difference?
OK So Im new at this work with me
haemphyst 
Platinum - Posts: 5,054
Platinum spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Electrical Theory. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: November 30, 2007 at 8:09 AM / IP Logged  
The audio spectrum is effectively divided into 8 parts - thus, the "Octave". Any doubling (say... 100Hz) or halving (say... 25Hz) of frequency from a selected frequency (in this case, 50Hz) is a one octave step from the reference frequency.
It's probably "dB/octave". It describes how fast the crossover works when filtering the higher frequencies from the signal.
24dB/octave will filter twice as fast as 12dB/octave, meaning that if you choose 50Hz as your crossover frequency, at 100Hz, your output will be 12dB lower than the selected crossover frequency, or 24dB lower than the selected crossover frequency, depending on the switch location.
There is not necessarily any "better", so DON'T ask that question... (just thought I'd get that in there, before you actually DID ask it. I could hear it coming explain octaves, how they effect sound - Last Post -- posted image.) It's for flexibility, and for options for blending your subs with your front stage. You will have to decide which works best in your system, with your sub and mains. No one will be able to answer that question if you ask it.
It all reminds me of something that Molière once said to Guy de Maupassant at a café in Vienna: "That's nice. You should write it down."
wildcatjay 
Member spacespace
Posted: November 30, 2007 at 12:34 PM / IP Logged