Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
asquarecan 
Copper - Posts: 64
Copper spacespace
Posted: July 11, 2010 at 12:57 PM / IP Logged  
Hey guys,
So I am confused as all hell!
I just bought a new class D pioneer amp and installed it in my truck. I had a previous amp in it (a MTX 3002) anyways I had been running the mtx for about 3 months with no issues, but I am upgrading my sub so I needed a bigger amp.
I unhooked the battery from the car prior to uninstall and install of the new amp.
Install everything and hook the sub up and nothing... amp is going into protection mode. Cant figure out for the life of my what is wrong. The amp is sitting on carpet so it is not touching any metal. I get so frustrated with it after trouble shooting everything I can think to do.
I unhook the battery again re-install the amp and sub combo I was running before I had any issues and now before I even plug my rca or speaker wires in my MTX is in protection mode wth!?!?!? All good wire back to the battery and no fuses are blown.
What the hell is going on here! I have never had this issue before and this is driving me crazy!
Thanks
Keith
dasbogie 
Silver - Posts: 514
Silver spacespace
Posted: July 11, 2010 at 4:59 PM / IP Logged  
I understand your previous combination worked but have you tried a different ground?
Advanced
i am an idiot 
Platinum - Posts: 13,667
Platinum spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Posted: July 11, 2010 at 8:21 PM / IP Logged  
Have you used a volt meter to verify the amp is getting power and ground?  If you have an AGU type fuse anywhere in the power path to the amp, replace the fuse, even if it does not look blown.
asquarecan 
Copper spacespace
Posted: July 11, 2010 at 9:02 PM / IP Logged  
What is an AGU fuse? I have a 100 amp in line fuse about 6 inches behind the battery and then obviously the amp in fused.
I will re-check my ground.