icon

Stereo set up ideas?

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
justin_92_92 
Member - Posts: 15
Member spacespace
Posted: November 29, 2003 at 8:52 AM / IP Logged  
I have just two amps in the back of my wrangler. I have a crossover hooked up so I can designate one amp for mid range and one amp for bass. I have a rca cable comes out of stereo and then goes in crossover. Then the mid range goes to a 300 watt amp and fires up two 6x9's I belive they are 150max  each. Then I have the low going from my crossover to a 600 watt amp that powers up two 10 inch speakers in a box. I have the wires hooked up like this.        pos-neg     neg-pos on both amps. any ideas or suggestions im new at this stuff. Should i bridge andything and if so can you bridge 2 things on one amp?
DYohn 
Moderator - Posts: 10,741
Moderator spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Electrical Theory. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: November 29, 2003 at 9:21 AM / IP Logged  

In general, it sounds like you are OK except for one thing: your amps and speakers should be hooked up with Pos (+) on the amp to Pos (+) on the speaker, and Neg (-) to Neg (-).  It sounds like you have everything hooked up in stereo?  If you like the way it sounds, then you are done!

muppetmaster 
Member - Posts: 36
Member spacespace
Posted: November 29, 2003 at 9:39 AM / IP Logged