icon

Learning to install: 3 sirens 2 strobes

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
truck0385 
Member - Posts: 7
Member spacespace
Posted: March 02, 2004 at 8:23 PM / IP Logged  
Hi, I am new to alarm installs, but i have been reading up on it. I have a clifford Matrix 1 alarm system. I want to add 2 more sirens, and two strobes so they go off only when sirens go off. I understand that i need a relay, but don't want to ruin the system brain trying. Please help me do these installs. Also, Clifford.com does not have the alarm wiring diagram. Do you know where i can get one?
Trucko385
nikkicv 
Member - Posts: 12
Member spacespace
Posted: March 02, 2004 at 10:20 PM / IP Logged  

Looking in the wrong place... Clifford is DEI so:

http://www.directed.com/guides/manuals/ig/clifford/N909429.pdf

If you are truly installing real strobes like Whelens, and not the toys found in the autoparts stores, I highly recommend a pair of relays: one for the sirens and one for the strobes.

Do note you won't need a relay for the sirens if we're talking combining the 514C siren that came with your Matrix 1 with 2 piezo sirens like the 513T. Piezos have significantly less draw compared to the standard sirens. Alternatively, your alarm brain can handle a maximum of 2 standard sirens, so you will need a relay if you plan to use standard sirens.

For the strobes, make certain you are not interrupting the strobe power supply - i.e., wiring it's +12V input through the relay. This is BAD for for them! Instead, you want to interrupt the strobe "outlet" control switch(es).

Good luck!

truck0385 
Member - Posts: 7
Member spacespace
Posted: March 03, 2004 at 9:18 AM / IP Logged  
Thank you so much for the installation guide, but i didn't understand what you meant by not interuppting the strobe power supply
Trucko385
nikkicv 
Member - Posts: 12
Member spacespace
Posted: March 03, 2004 at 8:43 PM / IP Logged