icon

Speaker frequencies

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
Richdevil{Holy} 
Member - Posts: 2
Member spacespace
Posted: May 25, 2004 at 5:02 PM / IP Logged  

Okay, these are probably total newbie questions but... I AM A NEWBIE :-)

I just want to know what the typical frequencies would be for a sub, mid-bass, mid-range tweeter etc.

and what would the best types of capasitors and inductors be to make the crossovers and filters etc.

Thanks for your help :-)

kgerry 
Platinum - Posts: 3,455
Platinum spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Posted: May 25, 2004 at 5:11 PM / IP Logged  

if you can, go active, not passive

of course this will entail muti-amping or a good multi channel amp

Kevin Gerry
Certified Electronics Technician
MECP First Class Installer
Owner/Installer
Classic Car Audio
since 1979
forbidden 
Platinum - Posts: 5,352
Platinum spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: May 25, 2004 at 6:14 PM / IP Logged  

Kevin had a good suggestion for you but it does not really answer your questions at all. This is just a basic understanding of frequencies for you, it should not be taken as audio gospel.

Subsonic 0-25hz

Subbass 25-120hz

Midbass 120-400hz

Midrange 400-2500hz

Highend 2500-20000hz