icon

bridging amp instructions

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
mci_sniper 
Member - Posts: 16
Member spacespace
Posted: February 11, 2008 at 10:33 AM / IP Logged  
Im new to car auido and just started 3 weeks ago. can someone explain how the wiring should be done when bridging 2 amps with 2 subs. Thanks sorry if I seem ignorant.
Semper Fi
i am an idiot 
Platinum - Posts: 13,674
Platinum spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Posted: February 11, 2008 at 12:10 PM / IP Logged  
We need to know the brand and model of the amp.  Also we need to know what if the speakers are dual voice coil, single voice coil?  And what is the impedance of the coil(s)?
mci_sniper 
Member spacespace
Posted: February 11, 2008 at 1:15 PM / IP Logged  

(2)MA Audio MA120XE -Dual 4-Ohm Voice Coils

Lanzar MXA232
Semper Fi

i am an idiot 
Posted: February 11, 2008 at 4:55 PM / IP Logged  
stevdart 
Platinum - Posts: 5,816
Platinum spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Posted: February 11, 2008 at 10:03 PM / IP Logged  

mcisniper wrote:
when bridging 2 amps with 2 subs

2 amplifiers, as in one amplifier per sub?  If so, you will need to wire each sub's coils in series for 8 ohms, then bridge one to each respective amp.  You should really use just one of this model amplifier for the two subs, and i am an idiot's post shows you how to see the wiring.

Build the box so that it performs well in the worst case scenario and, in return, it will reward you at all times.
i am an idiot 
Posted: February 11, 2008 at 11:21 PM / IP Logged  
I would have to say that I smooth overlooked that 2 amp thing.  I feel like such an idiot. 
n2audio 
Copper - Posts: 95
Copper spacespace
Posted: February 12, 2008 at 8:22 AM / IP Logged