icon

why use domelight as door trigger?

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
c.c.autospa 
Copper - Posts: 49
Copper spacespace
Posted: April 20, 2008 at 9:41 AM / IP Logged  
Im a rookie car alarm installer and although i personally dont do it, i noticed that alot of installers wire the alarms door triggers into the cars domelight switch. I was just wondering is this an installers preference or some specfic reason that it's wired that way?
cedric
i am an idiot 
Platinum - Posts: 13,672
Platinum spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Posted: April 20, 2008 at 9:56 AM / IP Logged  

This is a normal practice.  But if YOU want to be different, You could run a wire to each door pin, and have to diode isolate each wire (in a lot of cars) some cars you would not need to use the diodes.  The door pins control the domelight.  The domelight is just easier because you only have to make the one connection.

c.c.autospa 
Copper - Posts: 49
Copper spacespace
Posted: April 20, 2008 at 11:12 AM / IP Logged  
But what if the alarm has a wire for domelight supervision(clifford) and door triggers, would you still connect the door triggers to the car's domelight switch?
cedric
i am an idiot 
Platinum - Posts: 13,672
Platinum spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Posted: April 20, 2008 at 12:03 PM / IP Logged  

Yes.

sparkie 
Platinum - Posts: 2,061
Platinum spacespace
Posted: April 20, 2008 at 7:53 PM / IP Logged