icon

monitor flushed in glove box lid.?

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
skeeler 
Member - Posts: 32
Member spacespace
Posted: March 23, 2009 at 10:02 AM / IP Logged  
Hey guys! I am a newbie here and had a couple of questions. Again thanks in advance.
Here is what I am looking to do. I have a glove box lid from my boat that I would like to put an lcd monitor in. I have work with fiberglass before but never carbon fiber. Here are the questions I was looking for help on;
1) I plan on attaching the headrest shroud to the glove box lid, but would be the best adhesive to accomplish this?
2) I want to blend the shroud into the lid with some material. Would Duramix be the best item for this?
3) I would like to wrap the whole thing in carbon fiber or something similar. Anybody have some tips on applying this?
4) what prep work do I need to do to the lid before I start on it. It is obviously very smooth.
Thanks again!!!!
monitor flushed in glove box lid.? -- posted image.
monitor flushed in glove box lid.? -- posted image.
ckeeler 
Gold - Posts: 1,461
Gold spacespace
Posted: March 23, 2009 at 5:02 PM / IP Logged  
use duramix to adhere it to the glove box cover. the SMC/fiberglass recipe will work awesome. if you want the whole thing to be carbon fiber like the original, you need to then proceed to make the piece you have just constructed into whats called a "plug". having already worked with fiberglass you probably are already familiar with this process. once your plug is perfect and finished, use it to make a "mold". after the mold is complete and perfect, get yourself some carbon fiber and the clear resin. you lay in the carbon fiber in your mold and pour in the resin and squegee it all down removing any air bubbles or wrinkles in the carbon fiber, then just let dry and pop it out of the mold. now you have a complete carbon fiber piece that should have the identical shape of your plug that you made earlier.
skeeler 
Member spacespace