icon

97 integra 12’ subwoofer install

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
thug833 
Member - Posts: 12
Member spacespace
Posted: March 26, 2003 at 7:42 PM / IP Logged  

Hi I bought 2 12" sony xplod subs witha  1200 watt legacy amp and I need to know or get any good or creative ideas on ahow to install them ina trun with a reasoanble enclosure with decent sound quality. Im good with wood so id like to make my own but I would also like to keep a decent amount of space in my trunk for my books and stuff. Any suggestions on makign enclosures that arent necessarily sqaur but half cubes that will fit in corner? will these give decent bass quality. ANy ideas would be awesome Im a newbie at this sort of thing my fore' is lighting. Thanks a lot guys

Colin

bberman1 
Gold - Posts: 2,314
Gold spacespace
Posted: March 26, 2003 at 7:55 PM / IP Logged  

The best way to go is to use a sealed enclosure. Sealed will give you the best sound quality in my opinion and will use the least amount of space. On the Xplod's they all use a volume of 1.0 CU/FT per sub so your enclosure would need to be 2.00CU/FT total and I would use a divider so each sub has a separate chamber.

Spec83 
Member - Posts: 8
Member spacespace
Posted: March 26, 2003 at 8:00 PM / IP Logged  

As long as u build the boxes to the reccomended size as stated in the subs specs u should be sweet...!!!

As u have a limited space to work in and for reasons of ease of construction and tuning u should build 2 small sealed boxes that fit into the available space u have...try not to make all the sides parallel  and same size thou (cube). If u have a range of size that the box can be built to (eg in teh spec for sub it says 0.9cu/ft to 1.5cu/ft) remember that generaly the smaller the enclosure the higher the powerhandling capacity of the sub, but u will loose some low end extension and visa-versa for a larger box. Easyiest thing is to aim for something in the middle.

Signal: ///Alpine
Front: JL Audio