icon

Newbie Installing CD player

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
vampiro 
Member - Posts: 5
Member spacespace
Posted: April 14, 2003 at 3:55 PM / IP Logged  
I want to install my Sony Xplod CD-L600X cd player into my 1991 Buick Skylark. This is my first time installing a cd player because Circuit City installed it once in my other car. I bought the wire harness that fits my car. I have no idea what to do from there because the back of my cd player has female port from where the old wire harness from my Lebaron went to. Do I cut that off or do I try and take the male port off of my Lebaron's harness and combine it onto the wire harness I bought for my Buick. If so how do I do it? If I do cut it off would I just follow the wire diagram and use electrical tape to connect my connections? Help would be much appreciated.
CCRoadshop 
Copper - Posts: 70
Copper spacespace
Posted: April 14, 2003 at 9:29 PM / IP Logged  
is it a ribbon cable????
Installer - Circuit City Roadshop(2 1/2 years n counting)
------------------
Alpine CDA7894(soon to be the cda9815)
Pioneer XM unit(soon to be direct link alpine)
Audiovox 995C alarm/remote start
vampiro 
Member spacespace
Posted: April 14, 2003 at 9:34 PM / IP Logged  
What is a ribbon cable?
vampiro 
Member spacespace
Posted: April 14, 2003 at 9:36 PM / IP Logged  
It is just wires if that is what you mean.
wvsquirrel 
Gold - Posts: 1,237
Gold spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: April 14, 2003 at 9:39 PM / IP Logged  
I'm not sure about the wiring at this point, but I can tell you to splice or solder any wire connections you may have to do. Just twisting wires together and taping does not make a secure connection, and you run the risk of them comming apart later on down the road. Always splice using the proper crimp connectors, or solder if you know how to.