icon

using fused distribution block instead

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
1989ba4 
Member - Posts: 3
Member spacespace
Posted: November 04, 2010 at 3:26 AM / IP Logged  
I was wondering if this is possible and safe to do, I was going to buy a fused distribution Block with 0 gauge inputs, and use the block on the main battery power cable next to the battery, and then run a 4 and 8 gauge power cable back to the amp, and each wire will have a separate fuse from the distribution block, the reason why I'm thinking about doing it this way, because I can't afford 18ft of 0awg cable at the moment
oldspark 
Gold - Posts: 4,913
Gold spacespace
Posted: November 04, 2010 at 3:48 AM / IP Logged  
So what you're saying is that multiple 18' lengths of 4G & 8G to make up the equivalent of 0G is cheaper than a single 18' length of 0G?   Strange - not that I am a heavy-G wire expert.
As long as you realise that if you common together the far ends, if one fuse blows, the others may also blow...
But if you are splitting at the other end, it probably doesn't make much difference anyhow - especially if it means you avoid the single battery end fuse. (IE - instead of battery thru fuse thru 0G to DistBlock thru fuses for each smaller gauge; it may be battery (securely) to DistBlock thru fuses for each smaller gauge only.)   
After all, each fuse adds considerable resistance...
Usually a single larger cable is used for weight and space savings - especially with design margins (ie, shared cable overcapacity). But that depends alot on what you are powering....
That's my half-cents worth.
But see what others with REAL distro experience suggest....
i am an idiot 
Platinum - Posts: 13,672
Platinum spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Posted: November 04, 2010 at 6:30 AM / IP Logged