icon

Power Issues

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
yeovil 
Member - Posts: 12
Member spacespace
Posted: April 20, 2003 at 5:51 PM / IP Logged  
First off let me explain-I'm a complete novice at installation-amps ohms etc. and I am looking for a little advice, I pretty much come from the 3 ways cut into the area under the rear window with a power booster and an 8 track era. I've been given some info in other areas on the forum and I'm looking for a solution on a couple of issues. This will apply to a 1994 Miata if it makes a difference.

1.I'm mounting Rockford Fosgate FNQ 3614 6.5" components  in the existing door mount. 6.5 mid and-a 1" tweeter and was going to mount the same on the top of the deck directly behind the seats in the space available inside the rollbar mounts. I am going to use a Rockford Fosgate 851X 4 ch amp for those speakers. I originally intended to use headrest speakers but think it will sound better like this. This part is relatively straightforward I think. Plenty of power with speakers rated to handle it.

2. I originally intended using ONE Rockford Fosgate 3X2 12" DVC RFR3112 sub with a 1000bd Rockford Fosgate amp.I was told that this would have to be run at 4 ohms-1ohm not recommended. That would give me a 500w max, which I was told would seriously underdrive the sub. That means if I understand it correctly that I would need a 2nd sub to be able to get to the 2ohm load. I admit it doesn't make sense to me. I would think that if I run two subs at 2ohms from a 1000 watt amp, each sub is getting 500w. If I run 1 sub at 4ohms that sub is getting 500w. Can someone please clarify this and explain what the downside in sound and volume would be with the 4ohm configuration and how marked an improvement in sound running a 2nd sub at 2ohms would be in comparison. I'm most interested in sound quality, but obviously want volume as well, at least to balance with the front speaker setup.