icon

simple 12v 30amp pcb?

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
fiat1980spyder 
Member - Posts: 37
Member spacespace
Posted: December 02, 2012 at 9:43 PM / IP Logged  
I was wondering if it would be possible or if anyone has a link to something where I could make a relay board?
I have a Fiat spider
I do not have much room to put those huge bosch relays under the dash especially since i need 5 of them. Basically I have one for the cooling fan and fog lights that's a 30 amp relay,headlight low and high beam are 40 amp relay, now wanted one more starter motor.
But if I could build a small pcb board that would house the relays for half the size that would help a great deal.
korrupt3dazn 
Member - Posts: 11
Member spacespace
Posted: December 02, 2012 at 10:56 PM / IP Logged  
Hello,
Wouldn't it be easier to just get a relay socket and try and hid the relay somewhere that has space? Just a thought. I'm a newbie so just thinking out loud. lol
simple 12v 30amp pcb? -- posted image.
oldspark 
Gold - Posts: 4,913
Gold spacespace
Posted: December 03, 2012 at 2:49 AM / IP Logged  
Why not use the micro-ISO relays? Just make sure they are not the intermittent rated tyes like some I have seen.
But I'd suggest wires instead of a PCB due to the high current capacity.
howie ll 
Pot Metal - Posts: 16,466
Pot Metal spacespace
Posted: December 03, 2012 at 3:37 AM / IP Logged  
The fact that you have a Fiat means you must be well versed in electrical and rust problems.
There's no PCB board made for standard relays, there are some PCB mounting relays, see Farnell, Mouser US or RS components UK.
Omron make "micro relays" as used by Ford, Mercedes and some Japanese.
Another UK firm, Raw Components make waterproof fuse and relay boxes which join together Lego fashion, but then that's the Italian failure, mounting electrical components unprotected in the engine bay.
fiat1980spyder 
Member spacespace
Posted: December 03, 2012 at 9:50 AM / IP Logged  
korrupt3dazn
"Hello,