icon

viper 5704v 97 tahoe

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
kawasakiklx1 
Member - Posts: 9
Member spacespace
Posted: June 19, 2013 at 10:18 PM / IP Logged  
So I am very new to car alarms but an avid mechanic, big to small. I also do a lot of car stereo stuff, so alarms aren't completely foreign to me. Basically, you probably know more about alarms than me, but that does not make me incapable. viper 5704v 97 tahoe -- posted image.
So, I am going to be installing the alarm in the subject line into my 2 door, stock keyless entry, 97 Tahoe. I have been searching all afternoon to avoid mistakes and have come up with my wiring guide after triangulation and weeding out the wrong. I have a few points of concern that I was not able to determine with searches. The concerns are as follows:
1. My vehicle NEEDS a second ignition wire. I will get this connection from H3 terminal 7, to the white wire in my ignition harness, but that is the flex relay output (car side of ign), when using this connection, do I need to cute the white wire and connect car side to H3/7 and ignition side to H3/8?
2. In regards to H3/7, do I need to power up H3/2,6, and 9 in order to use it? I planned on powering them all but was unsure if it was necessary. In addition, can I power them all with the same +12v constant?
3. How many inline fuses should I use? There are 3 or 4 wires that require a fuse, can I run one main line from battery with a 20 amp and splice them all into the main?
4. Door locks, oooooh door lock. Apparently I have 5-wire, reversed polarized locks. I found a wiring setup for this, it uses 2 relays, is this correct? Where is the best place to access these wires? In the door? Is there a chance that because I already have stock keyless it may be easier?
5. Lastly, what type of connectors do you all use? I would like to solder when I can, but a lot of the wires splice into a partner. Do you just use vampire clips or w/e they're called? I guess I could strip/solder...?