icon

Newbie system building ?'s

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
redblack03blast 
Member - Posts: 2
Member spacespace
Posted: June 03, 2003 at 4:26 PM / IP Logged  
i have a 1996 Jeep Cherokee Sport and want to have a nice audio system in it. I have a 800 spending limit and can't drive yet so i have some time. What i what is a nice headeck with just cd player and radio with remote and a internal amp. I want to change all of the stock speakers. Also i need info on box building, is it ok to have a ported box with all wood casing but have the top and front fiberglass? I want to have 4 sony pentagonal 10" subs with 2 amps (don't know what watts). Can you guys tell me all the info i need to know because i'm a newbie and tell me what other things i need to buy like dash kit or wiring and tips.
TAudio 
Copper - Posts: 64
Copper spacespace
Posted: June 03, 2003 at 5:48 PM / IP Logged  

If you buy all the stuff of ebay you might be able to get an ok system with $800.  I haven't ever been very impressed with Sony's subss, but haven't sampled the pentagonals yet.  Your going to eat up most of you cash in the amplifiers though.  For the setup you want I would recommend at least 600 watts RMS amplification if not 800.  Not really sure what to tell you on that except stay away from Legacy and Boss Audio products they suck.

As for a head unit I would go with either Pioneer or JVC, both offer models under or around $200 with remotes, internal amps, and a couple even play mp3's. (JVC: KDS890,KDS990 Pioneer: DEH-P4500MPDEH-P5500MP).  I would strongly recommend buying the head unit from a local dealer so that you can get waranty service if you need to.