icon

head unit installation

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
bumpinintegra 
Member - Posts: 3
Member spacespace
Posted: July 01, 2003 at 12:31 PM / IP Logged  
I just bought a brand new Alpine CDA-9815 head unit and am having some trouble.  First of all, I can't seem to remove the piece that borders the face of the radio. Usually, they pop right off, but this one won't.  Because i can't get the thing off, I can't remove the cage from the radio to install it in the dash kit.  Also, there is a wire from the wiring harness that came with the radio that has a tage on saying not to connect it behind the dash and to connect it directly to the battery or the fuse box.  I have never done anything like that before and would like some suggestions.  Thanks for your help.
Sweekster 
Silver - Posts: 481
Silver spacespace
Posted: July 01, 2003 at 3:23 PM / IP Logged  
what year and kind of car are you doing this in?  Are you replacing the factory radio?
bumpinintegra 
Member spacespace
Posted: July 01, 2003 at 5:43 PM / IP Logged  

ok, here's the deal. I am installing the Alpine CDA-9815 unit in a 1999 acura integra ls. I figured out how to get the trim piece off, but I have two new problems. First, I am having serious problems with the dash kit.  The damn thing won't fit as per the directions of how to install it.  Secondly, there is a yellow wire from the CDA-9815 harness that is telling me to NOT connect behind the dash, but rather to connect to the battery terminal or the fuse box.  I know they are saying that because the unit requires constant power. So, I need to know where I can connect to in the fuse box to get constant power.  Thanks for your help.

esmith69 
Gold - Posts: 1,511
Gold spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: July 01, 2003 at 5:57 PM / IP Logged