icon

confused watts

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
msf145 
Copper - Posts: 59
Copper spacespace
Posted: July 10, 2003 at 10:44 PM / IP Logged  
hello im new at this. i dont understand the whole power and watts thing. for instance if i had a speaker with 100 watt rms. can i power it with 100 watts or less. or am i suppose to use a amp powering higher than 100 watts. or does it matter. can someone explain it to me very carefully. i am very confused. when does a speaker blow. from too little power or too much.? i know this is a simple question for most of you. but again im new at this.
ghs_wreslter189 
Copper - Posts: 52
Copper spacespace
Posted: July 10, 2003 at 10:56 PM / IP Logged  
rms means you can continuously play the sub at that power before you blow it.  it is best to give the sub at least half the rms rating most of the time.
--Adam
wvsquirrel 
Gold - Posts: 1,237
Gold spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: July 10, 2003 at 11:56 PM / IP Logged  
Root Mean Squared
It's a fancy name for the Continuous Power rating of the sub. Manufacturer's will specify what the RMS is of their subs, and it is used as the "Safe Spot" while still performing. The best rule to follow is to match the RMS of the sub to the RMS of the amp.
You also have a sub's "Peak" rating, or Maximum Power rating. This is basically the manufacturer's "Blow Up" power level. Meaning if you give the sub it's Peak wattage rating then you run a very good chance of blowing the sub. If you want to run the sub at higher then the RMS rating, then I usually recommend not going any higher then RMS + half the difference between the RMS and Peak rating [RMS + (Peak - RMS)/2]. But remember, if you supply more then the RMS rated power, you are running a risk of decreasing the life expectancy of the sub. It may perform better and be louder, but the sub wont last as long.
Here's an example...