Lots of Questions, Any Takers?

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
SigiDeba 
Member - Posts: 18
Member spacespace
Posted: September 11, 2003 at 4:03 PM / IP Logged  

Hey Blazer

Thanks for the info.  I'm installing 1 screen, a DVD player, and an FM modulator.  I'm a newb.  I just do head unit installs usually.  How does a D-Block work and in what situations do you use it?  Is it similiar to a relay?  Does it affectively filter smaller guage cable into larger guage (ie 4ga to 16ga?)?  I'm having trouble finding specs about them on the internet.  I don't have the devices I'm installing handy so I don't have the specs but I don't any of the three need any anything fancy as far as wattage.

Theoretically, if I find a contant 12v on the back of the head unit could I just tap that at 16ga and split it off to power all three of those devices safely? 

Another question, any tips or pointers for dropping a headliner and centering a flip screen?  Sounds like a two person job, right? 

Last question, the DVD player wasn't shipped with a chassy for the power feed to the unit.  It's a four pin square input on a Absolut DVD player.  Is this standard at all or am I going to have to contact them and have them ship me one.  I really need to get it in the next couple days so it will be ready as a birthday present for her son.  The only other alternative I can think of is a 12v -> 110v power inverter and then a 12v AC block, since the unit also has a 12v power block plug for house installations.  Any ideas?  Sorry, lots going on... I appreciate any help I can get in advance.

-Sigi Deba
Blazermedic 
Copper - Posts: 128
Copper spacespace
Posted: September 12, 2003 at 11:56 AM / IP Logged