icon

Another pushbutton starter relay question

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
mrnvgtr 
Member - Posts: 13
Member spacespace
Posted: January 17, 2004 at 3:15 PM / IP Logged  

I posted questions for help on wiring my pushbutton starter, power toggle switch, and three relays.  I just recently rewired it because something failed and couldn't figure out what it was.  Now it kind of works, but not how it originally did.  The diagram is below.  It worked by first turning the On/Off Toggle Switch to ON.  This provides accessory power to the car.  Then push the push button to start the car.  It worked fine for 6 months.  Now it is re-wired and I can't figure something out.  It starts immediately when the I turn the On/Off Toggle Switch to On.  I'm really concerned about what this is doing to the electrical system.  Any help figuring out what connection is incorrectly placed would be greatly appreciated.  By the way, I'm not a wiring expert, so something really obvious could be the cause.

Another pushbutton starter relay question - Last Post -- posted image.

hotrodelectric 
Copper - Posts: 112
Copper spacespace
Posted: January 19, 2004 at 2:34 AM / IP Logged  
OK- I have to make a few assumptions here. First, you own a BMW. Second, the original ignition switch was causing heartburn. Third, when you made your relay connections, you cut the wire to the switch and completely bypassed it rather than actually tapping from the switch. I'm looking at your diagram, and from what I see it should work. Try disconnecting the ground button wire from the starter relay, then flip on your acc/ign