the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
icon

bass blockers

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
erinh 
Copper - Posts: 91
Copper spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: February 05, 2004 at 6:46 PM / IP Logged  
i just added 2 subs and an amp and have the amp set to low cross at 80hz. Should i add bass blockers to the front and rear speakers? if so, which or both? and what frequency should be blocked at for both?
Teamrf 
Gold - Posts: 1,031
Gold spacespace
Posted: February 05, 2004 at 6:51 PM / IP Logged  
I've sold bass blockers as a salesman, but as an installer I've never really used them. Some of the high end head units have a feature where you can change the frequency through the speakers. 
~The Rookie~
Rookie of the year that is...
Don't let the smoke out of your equiptment..it doesn't go back in.
forbidden 
Platinum - Posts: 5,352
Platinum spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: February 05, 2004 at 7:04 PM / IP Logged  

Yes, add them, if it saves your speakers it is a good investment. Sounds like Teamrf needs to have a talk with the salespeople or recommend it himself. A pair of basic bass blockers are better than nothing if the deck does not have a crossover that will work with the built in amp. A pair of 200mf caps (non polar - mylar) would be the best bet for you, it is a approx a 200hz crossover with a 6db slope and goes in line on the positive lead to the speaker.

Top Secret, I can tell you but then my wife will kill me.
erinh 
Copper spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: February 05, 2004 at 7:24 PM / IP Logged