icon

mre power to the altenator

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
dave25456 
Copper - Posts: 72
Copper spacespace
Posted: August 06, 2004 at 8:07 AM / IP Logged  
I am new in the game and want to know how to carry more power to the altenator ?thanx for the info
dave25456
DYohn 
Moderator - Posts: 10,741
Moderator spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Electrical Theory. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: August 06, 2004 at 8:29 AM / IP Logged  
The alternator PRODUCES your power.  The alternator that came with your car can only produce so much and you cannot increase this.  If you need more current due to adding a large audio system, you will need to purchase a high-output alternator and probably also upgrade the power and ground cables for the alternator and battery.
Support the12volt.com
ice4life8269 
Copper - Posts: 112
Copper spacespace
Posted: August 06, 2004 at 8:38 AM / IP Logged  
D, what about changing the rectifier bridge? i know changing the whole alternator would be more efficient, but i think you can make the factory one put out more juice by changing the bridge. i think there are even companys the do it for you if you send them your alt.
Alpine Guy 
Platinum - Posts: 2,478
Platinum spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: August 06, 2004 at 8:44 AM / IP Logged  
you can do that, but there un reliable that way, and often time's, companys wont warranty there work because of that, ,  besides , , you can only squeeze another 20 amps or so.
2003 Chevy Avalanche,Eclipse CD7000,Morel Elate 5,Adire Extremis,Alpine PDX-4.150, 15" TC-3000, 2 Alpine PDX-1.1000, 470Amp HO Alt.
haemphyst 
Platinum - Posts: 5,054