icon

amp cutting out

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
uc10950 
Member - Posts: 12
Member spacespace
Posted: October 19, 2004 at 10:33 PM / IP Logged  

im having a problem here and need some help. im new at this posting stuff , so here goes. in my 2003 sentra ive got a pioneer head 3600, pioneer 6.5 2 ways, an audiobahn 12 ported single sub all on a hifonics zeus 700 5 chanel i got about 3 yrs ago. the6.5 are brideged on cnls12 & 34 and the sub is on cnl 5 . all was good untill about 2 mnth ago. wifey came home said the system sounded funny. i go to check and now the amp cuts into  protection  when you turn the system up and you hit a hard bass note. talked to some peeps , told me to make sure none of my wires were grounding. did that. still same. amps not heating up .turn the head off, everything resets youre good. start to crank it, bass hits,bye bye amp. tonight i tried swaping the sub, thought maybey the voice coil was botoming out and bought a rf p212 put it in the enclosure.sounds great takes more volume but it cut out finally again. can it be i need a cap? like i said everything was fine untill that day my wife said what she said. please help 

Rushman 
Silver - Posts: 380
Silver spacespace
Posted: October 19, 2004 at 11:02 PM / IP Logged  
Usually the first thing I would suggest is upgrading to a bigger ground wire from the amp. Check the connections at both ends of the Ground wire since it was working once before. Wifey might have hit a pot hole or somthing and jarred the ground loose.
99 F-one fitty
Pioneer Premier H/U
Alpine EQ
Kicker 1200 amp
4 Kicker comp 10s
6 kicker SS65.2 components
chrane 
Member - Posts: 27
Member spacespace
Posted: October 19, 2004 at 11:32 PM / IP Logged  

no, you dont need better ground and you dont need a cap, its because your amp cant handle the load.. ohms are too low for it to function

Aaron
Rushman 
Silver - Posts: 380
Silver spacespace
Posted: October 19, 2004 at 11:36 PM / IP Logged