icon

95 Camry Remote Starter blows fuse

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
rfollett 
Member - Posts: 4
Member spacespace
Posted: January 01, 2005 at 11:28 AM / IP Logged  

I am not an auto mechanic but I was able to install a DesignTech International remote starter in my wife's 95 Camry.

I ran into a discrepancy in the manufacturer's database wiring colors and the readout on the DC MM.  I followed the results of the DC MM and everything worked.  Problem is the remote starter blows the 30 A fuse after the car is remote started and then started with a key.

Ignition 1 wire was reported by DesignTech's database as BLACK/ Orange but is showed 12 v in all key positions.  I used the BROWN / White wire which showed 12 v in only run and start positions which were the specs in their installation manual.

What is wrong with this picture?

Scott35 
Silver - Posts: 258
Silver spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: January 01, 2005 at 1:12 PM / IP Logged  
Try 12v white&WHITE/ red,starter BLACK/ white,and ignition as BLACK / YELLOW.
Tacomacrew
rfollett 
Member spacespace
Posted: January 01, 2005 at 3:06 PM / IP Logged  

The only colors I have to choose from are:

BLACK/ Orange (??),  Blue/Orange (Accessory),  BLACK / YELLOW (ignition 2),  BLACK/ White (starter),   BROWN / Orange (??),  BROWN / White (I assumed ignition 2 based on voltage readings),  and Brown (??)

The website for DesignTech claimed the BLACK/ Orange would be the ingition 1 wire.  The installation instructions said the wire would show no voltage when in the off or accessory position.   It actually shows 12v in off, accessory, run and start postions.  Perhaps I have some other electrical problem that the BLACK/ Orange wire has voltage when it shouldn't?

Scott35 
Silver - Posts: 258
Silver spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: January 01, 2005 at 3:13 PM / IP Logged