icon

Capacitors

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
fastone 
Copper - Posts: 83
Copper spacespace
Posted: January 27, 2005 at 11:02 PM / IP Logged  
Ok, here goes my stupid question. Now I do know quite a bit about electronics. I studied 2 yrs at a technical school, no degree cause I didn't take all the electives and the upper level math.  So, what purpose do these big caps serve in power supply for your audio system. Basically a cap blocks DC, passes AC, can be used as a filter, etc. But how could it possibly boost your supply amperage or voltage, either of  which being low can cause dim lights, etc. Help an old guy out. I used to wire em to the nearest hot wire, and what amps? AND WE USED TO WALK 10 MILES TO SCHOOL IN THE SNOW!!!! 
bullman96 
Silver - Posts: 294
Silver spacespace
Posted: January 27, 2005 at 11:12 PM / IP Logged  
they cant. they can drop/equal out the voltage. "Southside is right on, a cap is NEVER the way to solve the problem of your alternator not being able to keep up with system demand. A stiffening capacitor is designed to help an amplifier maintain power output by dampening the small voltage ripples caused by demand spikes when your system is operating near peak output. A capacitor WILL NOT, under any circumstances, increase your system voltage nor increase system current capacity beyond what the alternator can supply. In every case, if you are installing a system that will demand more amps from your alternator than it can produce, you need to upgrade the alternator.
Would a capacitor help your system? Maybe. Is it necessary? No." quoting dyohn(if you have a problem with me doing so dyohn, please tell me). hes much better at explaining things than i could ever. i read an in depth answer somewhere on this board but dont have time to find it. just use the handy search link and you will find what you are looking for
haemphyst 
Platinum - Posts: 5,054