icon

4 fans for amp rack!

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
horrro582 
Member - Posts: 9
Member spacespace
Posted: July 10, 2005 at 1:41 PM / IP Logged  
i am new to car audio and need to hook up 4 fans in my amprack! i have a dvd player with a remote out at the back of it, so how do i connect the relay to the remote and the fans to the relay and do i need to use any fuses? please need sum serious help! thankx for ur time!
genehewett 
Copper - Posts: 151
Copper spacespace
Posted: July 10, 2005 at 4:47 PM / IP Logged  

This is the diagram posted on this site.

Using a 30 amp SPDT relay, connect terminal #87 to constant 12 volts positive with a fuse rated to the sum of the additional accessories you've added and the components you need to turn on. (If you have two fans rated at 5 amps each and a neon light rated at 10 amps, you would use a 20 amp fuse plus 200 ma for each amplifier and processor.) Connect terminal #85 to ground, terminal #86 to the remote turn on lead from the head unit, and terminal #30 to each accessory with an appropriate fuse. A fuse (not shown) could also be used between the output of the relay (#30) and the remote turn on lead of the amplifiers and/or processors for extra precaution.

horrro582 
Member - Posts: 9
Member spacespace
Posted: July 10, 2005 at 6:01 PM / IP Logged  
what gauge wire do you recommend? and also would it be wise to use 2 relays, 1 from the dvd player remote out to power 4 fans, and another relay to power both my amps from my hu? or can i just use 1 relay for all 4 fans and both amps, or will this be too much???
genehewett 
Copper - Posts: 151
Copper spacespace
Posted: July 10, 2005 at 7:35 PM / IP Logged