icon

Dealer Nightmare

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
motodude 
Member - Posts: 10
Member spacespace
Posted: October 29, 2005 at 9:39 PM / IP Logged  
Yeah, I noticed that. So much for professionally installed. Heh.
Obviously, I am far from an expert on this stuff. As you can tell, I was pretty hot when I first posted this. The truck is still in the same condition. No time to fiddle with it, maybe tomorrow. Besides, I learned a long time ago not to work of things like this when I'm mad.
So, what should I use for connectors to repair this thing? Is there any chance the alarm is messed up, and the dealer was right in saying there is a short somewhere? They did say the power was totally out, and nothing worked, so they had to bypass it. What are the odds if it going out at the dealers, when its been totally reliable for years?
I know it's imposable for any of you to know the answer, but do you think I should check the connections to the control unit or something? What should I do if, after reconnecting the wires, the truck has no power? In other words, what would you do?
My biggest fear is I'll hook it back up and the thing will catch fire or something. Feel free to make me feel stupid. Believe me, I already do and it can't get much worse.
lspker 
Silver - Posts: 503
Silver spacespace
Posted: October 29, 2005 at 10:10 PM / IP Logged  
Any moron can make a butt connector work properly.  At least 30% of our bussiness is fixing "experts" who don't know how to solder properly.  The point is, if you do not know what your doing, don't  do it.
nava94 
Silver - Posts: 296
Silver spacespace
Posted: October 29, 2005 at 11:03 PM / IP Logged