icon

2000 Dakota, Viper 791xv, door locks

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
blowenblu 
Member - Posts: 17
Member spacespace
Posted: November 05, 2005 at 12:20 PM / IP Logged  

I'm installing a ( Viper 791xv) in a 2000 Dodge Dakota club cab 4x4. I have a master service manual for this truck with all the wiring diagrams. I understand the power door lock system, how it works, and where the wires are. I have 2 wires that come from my door switchs and feed the central timer modual, ((or/vt  (+) for lock)),  ((pk/vt  (+) for unlock)). The CTM than uses reverse polarity to activate the lock motor. The problem I am having is how to tie in the door lock harmess from the (viper 791xv).  The install guide from viper shows no diagram. This is the only  info they give:    H2/A  =  GREEN  =  (-) LOCK,  (+) UNLOCK  OUTPUT.     H2/C =  BLUE =  (-)UNLOCK, (+) LOCK   OUTPUT.

It also says:        (Outputs are low current, only to be used with active relays.)

I understand that I have to tie the wires in at the door switch sending signal to the CTM and not after CTM sending power to the lock motors.  Now for my question:   Can anyone tell me how to tie these wires in? Do I need to use any diodes or relays? If someone has a diagram of this it would be great !!  I would have added the wiring diagram I have of my power door locks to this page, but I couldn't figure out how to get it on here.  SORRY!

IF ANYONE CAN GIVE ME A DIAGRAM OR INFO ON THE WAY VIPER RECOMMENDS WIRING THIS IT WOULD BE GREATLY APPRECIATED!!!!

2000 Dakota, Viper 791xv, door locks - Last Post -- posted image.

JWorm 
Platinum - Posts: 2,208
Platinum spacespace
Posted: November 05, 2005 at 1:54 PM / IP Logged  
If your truck did not have keyless entry from the factory:
blue ----->   ORANGE / violet
green ----> pink/violet
You can find those wires in the drivers kick panel.
If it had keyless entry from the factory....let us know. You'll have to 5-wire the unlock wire.
lookingforcool