icon

96 Honda Accord Remote Starter

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
onesicks10 
Member - Posts: 23
Member spacespace
Posted: December 18, 2005 at 9:26 PM / IP Logged  

Hi there, I installed a BOA remote starter w/keyless entry (model 265B) in a friends 96 Honda Accord and Im having no luck with it.  This was my first remote starter install and I only attempted it because they claimed it was an EASY install.  Im not a beginner, the only thing is the power door locks got me all confused because when I was testing the door lock switch it wasn't matching up to any of the 8 examples i had unless I was testing it wrong.  Before I go any further let me just say there are 2 harness with this system 1 for the door locks and the other for the starter.  I got the starter hooked up, and left the door lock harness unplugged.  According to the manual I synchronized the remote the correct way, the parking lights flashed twice when i held the PROG button and according to the manual thats ALL you have to do to synchronize the remote.  But when i press the start button it didnt do ANYTHING. When I tested the Door lock switch there were3 wires, 2 black and 1 orange. both black wires test @ 4.9V and fluctuated up to 9V when the door lock was switched to lock or unlock 1 wire did it for unlock, the other for lock. The BOA website says to tap into the BLACK/ white and blue/white .. i couldnt find either of these wires, and the only black with a white stripe wire i found never had voltage when i tested it. Any help is appreciated. Is it possible the remote starter wont work unless the door lock harness it connected? This car does not have a factory alarm or keyless entry.

12volts                            white (50A)                          +   ignition harness

Starter                             BLACK/ white                         +   ignition harness
Second Starter             N/A