the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
icon

Eclipse SW7124DVC defect?

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
smonster 
Copper - Posts: 49
Copper spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: April 17, 2006 at 9:16 PM / IP Logged  
I got some Eclipse SW7124dvc-t4 and some Eclipse SW7104dvc-t4s from my distributor on closeout and so they didn't have a warranty. I have just blown one of the 12's (sw7124dvc.t4) and I don't have a clue why. I have it in a box that is sealed 1.3 cubes, powering it is an eclipse 32240 2/1 ch. 400w rms.    I was playing it at moderate volume (mind you the sub was properly broken in and I am a professional installer) and the sucker just started smoking and giving the pleasant aroma of fully cooked voice coil.      
This wouldn't bother me, except the fact that I had installed a sw104dvc.t4 10" inch in a friends vehicle, powering it with an amp that was 650watts max and the voice coil came unravelled (It doesn't have the odor of cooked coil) and they both make the same wire scraping aluminum sound.    
Is this just coincidense or something worse?   I am pretty confident that it wasn't my error, I am not saying it wasn't but hey!
I'm just trying to get some feedback before I even try to talk to Eclipse and have them hang up on me because I didn't purchase it from an authorized dealer.
forbidden 
Platinum - Posts: 5,352
Platinum spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: April 17, 2006 at 9:39 PM / IP Logged