icon

vented fiberglass enclosure?

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
twobig86 
Copper - Posts: 84
Copper spacespace
Posted: May 23, 2007 at 12:10 AM / IP Logged  

Hi, I am currently in the process of planning my next car audio system and I need some help on a few things.  I am completely new to fibreglass building.

I have 2 MTX T9512-44 Subwoofers – each at 1000 watts RMS

http://www.mtx.com/caraudio/products/subwoofers/thunder9500.cfm

First question is this:  Does it matter with this sub or any sub if I have them mounted with the magnets up, instead of in the box.  Also if you can mount them upside down like that can you have one mounted with the magnet in the box and the other with the magnet out?

Second, when figuring out box sizes do you need to subtract the size of the sub that will be inside the box to get the total volume?  So say that the sub needs 12 cubic inches and the magnet takes up a space of 2 cubic inches do I need a box with 12 – 2 = 10 inside or the 14 – 2 = 12 if you understand what I’m getting at.  I’m not sure I understand myself lol.

Third, from most of the installs I’ve looked at on this site and on others the fibreglass enclosure is sealed.  Can you still make a vented enclosure?  Also if you can and you do make one is there anything that I should avoid doing?  Like not making the box very narrow and long for instance?  Pretty much will a weird shaped box with a vent have a different effect than an actual box with a simply designed vent.

I hope you can understand what I’m getting at with all that.

All help will be appreciated.

bellsracer 
Silver - Posts: 703
Silver spacespace
Posted: May 23, 2007 at 3:40 PM / IP Logged  
twobig86 wrote:
Hi, I am currently in the process of planning my next car audio system and I need some help on a few things.  I am completely new to fibreglass building.

I have 2 MTX T9512-44 Subwoofers – each at 1000 watts RMS

http://www.mtx.com/caraudio/products/subwoofers/thunder9500.cfm