icon

remote wiring

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
noob555 
Member - Posts: 25
Member spacespace
Posted: July 08, 2007 at 10:29 PM / IP Logged  
Ok, i'm a complete noob at car audio so sorry for any question that may sound stupid....but when hooking up a remote wire to your head unit you tap it in to the accessory aka switched 12v wire but if there isnt a accessory wire where would you tap the remote wire into? would it be the Factory amp turn on wire? and if neither an accessory wire or factory amp turn on wire where would i hook it up to then? or does there have to be one of the two wires?
tdsteele 
Silver - Posts: 393
Silver spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: July 08, 2007 at 10:38 PM / IP Logged  

What kind of radio are you working with? Factory? Aftermarket?

noob555 
Member spacespace
Posted: July 08, 2007 at 10:54 PM / IP Logged  
Factory...its just for cars in general not looking for a specific make and model.
noob555 
Member spacespace
Posted: July 09, 2007 at 12:06 AM / IP Logged  
To make it more simple...if there is No accessory wire to tap my remote wire into on a factory head unit or ignition harness,,to a after market amp.. where eles would i tap into?...not looking for a specific car.
I was thinking the Factory amp turn on wire?
noob555 
Member spacespace
Posted: July 09, 2007 at 11:47 AM / IP Logged  
I was told that when hooking up my after market amp to my factory head unit that I would tap my remote wire into the accessory wire on the ignition harness and if there was no accessory wire i would have to look for one on my fuse block...is that correct??
noob555 
Member spacespace
Posted: July 09, 2007 at 12:18 PM / IP Logged  
I could also use my factory amp turn on correct?
tdsteele 
Silver - Posts: 393
Silver spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: July 09, 2007 at 4:57 PM / IP Logged