icon

relays w/diodes

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
seeker1 
Member - Posts: 24
Member spacespace
Posted: December 05, 2007 at 12:26 AM / IP Logged  

I'm new to this. Tweaking a 96 mustang w/lights and remote start & control from an Audiovox aps998. In my research and installation I've ru accross relays with buit-in diodes between the 85th and 86th pin. Whats the purpose of this? If I understand right these are the coil contacts w/85 being the + contact and 86 the -. The diode setups I've seen have the cathode on 85 and the anode on 86. With 85 being the + side there wouldn't any current flow from 85 to 86 through the diode, it would go from 85 to 86 through the coil. And if there was a flow(I.E. hooked up backwards) wouldn't the current flow thru the coilanyway? Whats this diode blocking?

?????

Seeker1

Only the strong survive.
Eat the weak.
techman93 
Silver - Posts: 591
Silver spacespace
Posted: December 05, 2007 at 12:54 AM / IP Logged  
They put these diodes on starter kill relays and on relays where you want the coils to slowly go out of contact such to eliminate amplifier pop when you shut system off. It depends on what your using it for.
As I posted on Nov. 4, 2007
techman93 wrote:
When energizing the coil of a relay, polarity of the coil does not matter unless there is a diode across the coil. If a diode is not present, you may attach positive voltage to either terminal of the coil and negative voltage to the other, otherwise you must connect positive to the side of the coil that the cathode side (side with stripe) of the diode is connected and negative to side of the coil that the anode side of the diode is connected.