08 express van dlpk issues

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
sick srt4 
Member - Posts: 3
Member spacespace
Posted: April 04, 2010 at 8:05 PM / IP Logged  

Kind of a long story here, so I will start from the beginning:

Yes I am a certified installer, but I don't practice often as I own an HVAC company as my primary job.

2008 Chevy Express Van, with factory power locks and windows-

One of my own van's (of course it has to be mine) has had issues since day 1 with the immobilizer and DL interface.  I installed a Directed (Valet) remote start/keyless entry can't remember the model sorry.  Did the original install last year, and the RS brain has been working fine, parking lights, accessories, all in working order.

The 1st Interface module I installed was a Fortin CANSL2.  Originally, it was wired as per the directions from Fortin.  I could never get the module to properly program, however it did learn the door locks and that worked for quite some time.  A few weeks later, got another CANSL2 and called Fortin, went over all the wiring and programming over the phone, still no luck, so we popped in the new unit, still the same thing, door locks work, but the module doesnt program itself for the immobilizer.  (durring programming, the LED would never flash telling me it started learning)  Now tech support tells me to manually ground the status wire (which is labeled an output btw) durring programming.  Still nothing, same scenario.  He has be disconect a wire or two (cant remember which one), and durring learn mode, reconnect it.  Smoke and smells, the new module fries in my face.