icon

Help with a remote start for 2002 Jeep GC

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
keithf 
Member - Posts: 3
Member spacespace
Posted: April 17, 2003 at 9:33 PM / IP Logged  

Hi, this is my first post! This site is full of great info and helpful people. I have no experience and hope can help me with some advise to see I don't get ripped off. I searched and could not find this vehicle in the list.

I have a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo (not the fancy Limited) which I want to have a remote start installed into by a shop. I called a shop (Circuit city in the Houston area) and asked them if they had a system to add remote start to my factory keyless entry and factory security alarm.

They said no, and offered me 2 systems: 

$300 for an installed system, using a DEI 552T and some modules and relays they said they need to bypass the key and rewire the door locks. This only has a 1year warranty, and has no panic features. To have a panic button I would need to also carry my factory remote. FYI the panic is for my wife and kid, who use the car.

$470 for an installed system, using an Audiovox Prestige 875C and the same modules and relays as the cheaper system. This has a lifetime warranty, and includes a replacement alarm with panic button.

Questions: Is the above true that I have to replace my factory stuff? Is there no add-on module I could have fitted?

Is the $300 system ok, or a piece of junk? I like saving $170 if I have to carry an extra remote for panic button, but am worried about the 1year warranty.

What about my Jeep warranty? Should I rather have my Jeep dealer install a system?

Any other advise appreciated! Thank You! Keith.

JWorm 
Platinum - Posts: 2,208
Platinum spacespace
Posted: April 17, 2003 at 10:00 PM / IP Logged