icon

Simple question for you guys.

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
gardobus 
Member - Posts: 6
Member spacespace
Posted: May 28, 2003 at 1:42 AM / IP Logged  

Hi, I'm new to installing anything into any vehicle. I have a '96 Chevy full size pickup and I would like to wire it so that I have a headphone sized male jack hanging out from the dash that I can plug into a portable cd player, mp3 player, tape player, etc.  This sounds like it would be really simple, but I'm new to all of this and am unsure how to go about it. 

I looked at the wiring diagram for my stereo and it has wires for four different speakers, so how would I wire the headphone jack into that since it is only stereo?

[ Stereo Wiring Diagram] [ Type of jack I want coming from the dash]

Maybe those links will help explain what I mean a little bit or let you guys help me more! Thanks in advance!

--------------
:)
wvsquirrel 
Gold - Posts: 1,237
Gold spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: May 28, 2003 at 3:03 AM / IP Logged  
I can understand why you would want that, but unfortunately you will not be happy with the sound. The signal would be unamplified and you would not get any type of real volume. If you have an existing tape deck in the truck, perhapse something like this Sony adapter is more of what you would need. It allows you to use the included cassette adapter to interface with your existing headunit/amplifiers. The other end is a phono-plug like you asked for. This way the headunit's internal amplifier can power the speakers using the signal from the cd player, MP3 player, etc...
Squirrel
"No more Cpt. Kirk chit chat"
If its too loud, then you're too old
Donate to the12volt.com
gardobus 
Member spacespace
Posted: May 28, 2003 at 8:37 AM / IP Logged