the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
icon

Anybody have the experience on compustar?

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
tgctruly 
Member - Posts: 17
Member spacespace
Posted: October 01, 2004 at 10:55 PM / IP Logged  
Hi, I just ordered a compustar alarm 2wss-as, and it will be here like next week.  Now, before the alarm's here, I want to ask the tips about install the alarm on my honda civic since this is my first time install the remote/alarm combo on my own car.  Wonder if any of you pros have suggestion about the installation like where to wire/place the brain etc.  Any suggestion about the installation is pretty much appreciated!!
hagmanti 
Silver - Posts: 304
Silver spacespace
Posted: October 02, 2004 at 12:27 AM / IP Logged  
I have a 2001 Civic. I'm still planning my install, so a lot of this is subject to "will it actually work when I put it there." W/ that caveat:
Getting in the dash of the Civic is a hassle. That's good for security-- bad for you if you like to tinker. But there are lots behind the radio to put brains. Check out 7thgencivic for instructions on how to remove the radio (depending on how old your car is).
I'm considering putting my brain right inside my center console. I already run power wires (for my amp) there, so if I'm careful about the wire bundles leaving the brain, there won't be an obvious path leading to it. (I'm also going to put a "decoy" brain up by the ignition harness. *grin*) The prox sensor and shock sensors can also go there, and get fairly even coverage...
I've also considered putting the brain itself under the rear seats. Again, I want it a little out of the way (so beginner thieves won't find it in the first 3 places they look), but not so hard to get to that I can't tinker w/ it...
Just my $.02,
Me
tgctruly 
Member spacespace
Posted: October 02, 2004 at 2:01 AM / IP Logged